The Wilbarger County Series

Follow the adventures of Sheriff Wade Adams and Lizzie Fletcher as they investigate murder in rural Wilbarger County Texas. Witness the development of their romance while they deal with mystery and suspense. 

Death on Paradise Creek

Book One of the Wilbarager County Series

    The Paradise Creek Inn was open for business in rural Wilbarger County, Texas. Business was slow except for the occasional parties for family or friends, until a prestigious actor became stranded on the property. Suddenly, Lizzie Fletcher and her family were booking events left and right - a dream come true. 

  Things quickly changed when one of the hired hands made a gruesome discovery. Sheriff Wade Adams and his team were called to investigate. While evidience is being analyzed, another body turns up. The long kept secrets revolving around those discoveries began to unravel.

"ENJOYABLE GREAT READ: Starts off as a western which I totally loved. Then moves to modern day. So much is contained in this book, Great story line, lots of sub plots, I loved this gem of a book. Romance, murder mystery, hidden treasure, it has it all. Entertaining well written debut book by Dianne Smithwick-Braden."

"SURPRISE ENDING: I enjoyed this book from the very beginning. It did have a very surprise ending though. I can figure out most of the who done it at the beginning of a book, this one is so we'll written, you don't even figure it out at the end."

"I ENJOYED IT: There were a lot of different things going on. I enjoyed it. Kept me guessing until the end. I usually figure the ending out. Keep writing."

Death under a Full Moon

Book Two of the Wilbarger County Series​

   This second installment of the Wilbarger County series joins Sheriff Wade Adams and Lizzie Fletcher as they investigate murder.

   Wade and Lizze attend a dinner party near the small community of Rayland, Texas. One week later, one of the guests is murdered.  With his only female deputy out on maternity leave, Sheriff Adams makes a quick decision to deputize Lizzie. That decision proves to be good for the department but damaging to their relationship.

   The sheriff and his deputies follow every lead to no avail.  Lizzie happens to overhear a conversation that gives them the clue they need. With little time to spare, Sheriff Adams and his team rush to prevent yet another death.

"A BOOK ONE CANNOT PUT DOWN! : I just finished reading this book late last night. Just couldn't put it down. Wilbarger county is where my husband and I grew up and so the setting is very familiar to me. I love mysteries and she has done a very nice job of keeping the suspense until the very end of the book. I look forward to her next book."

"JUMP ON THE BANDWAGON NOW: I read her first book and loved it. Read the second and found a writer even more in charge of her craft; the characters I grew to know in the first book are more fully developed. The plot is not gimmicky or twisty but mature and thoughtful but still unpredictable. Smithwick-Braden is one of those mystery writers that next year, we'll all be saying, I discovered her first, she's mine."

"READERS WILL BE KEPT GUESSING: Smithwick-Braden brings back her core characters, but plenty of new, colorful, and memorable ones are added-in to keep readers entertained and guessing about who is the murderer and what might be the motive – there are LOTS of possibilities for both."

Flames of Wilbarger County

Book Three of the Wilbarger County Series

   Old flames threaten the relationship between Sheriff Wade Adams and Lizzie Fletcher in book three of the Wilbarger County Series.  The Fletcher family contemplate expanding the Paradise Creek Inn to accommodate their growing clientele while the Wilbarger County Sheriff's department tries to stop an arsonist before the entire county is reduced to ash. The fires escalate from grass fires twice a week to murder as mysterious clues begin to arrive at the Sheriff's department.

"LIKED THE PLOT AND CHARACTERS FROM BEGINNING TO END: Mysteries are my favorite reads and Smithwick-Braden keeps you guessing all the while throwing in historical tidbits about the area. I have read her first two books in this series and love the way each book flows into the other."

"A FUN READ THAT ENDS WITH SURPRISE: Smithwick-Braden continues to develop the characters, while introducing new characters and twists and turns. A fun read that ends with the surprise that mysteries should.

"SO VERY GOOD. COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN: I read the book a couple of weeks ago. It was so very good. Couldn't put it down.  I so hope there is another book in the future to this series.

Gambling with Murder ebook cover.jpg
Gambling with Murder
Book Four of the Wilbarger County Series

   Book 4 of the Wilbarger County Series finds Sheriff Wade Adams and his team investigating the death of a young FBI agent from Las Vegas. Her fellow agents believe they have the winning hand when it comes to outwitting the small-town Sheriff’s department.
   The stakes are raised when Lizzie Fletcher and members of her family are threatened. The deck seems to be stacked against solving the case before Wade and Lizzie’s wedding day.